Sign In Forgot Password

Holidays

High Holy Days

The High Holy Days bring many memorable traditions and practices.  On Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur we offer both traditional, alternative, and youth services.  No matter which you choose, our services are designed to teach and inspire.

Rosh Hashanah

The Jewish New Year
Begins sunset Friday, September 15, 2023
Ends sundown Sunday, September 17, 2023

Did you know?
Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, is a time to reflect on the past year and express one’s hopes for the year to come.  We dip apples or challah in honey to bring in a sweet new year.

Yom Kippur

Day of Atonement
Begins sunset Sunday, September 24, 2023
Ends sundown Monday, September 25, 2023

Festivals and Holidays

Dine in the Sukkah, dance on Simchat Torah, spin your dreidel on Hanukkah, and shake your grogger on Purim.  Join us throughout the year to experience the rich traditions our holidays offer. 

Sukkot

Festival to commemorate the sheltering of the Israelites in the wilderness 
Begins sunset Friday, September 29, 2023
Ends sundown Friday, October 6, 2023 

Shmini Atzeret & Simchat Torah

Day of celebrating the Torah
Begins sunset Friday, October 6, 2023
Ends sundown Sunday, October 8, 2023 

Hanukkah

Festival of light commemorating the rededication of the Temple in 165 BC by the Maccabees
Begins sunset Thursday, December 7, 2023 
Ends sundown Friday, December 15, 2023

Did you know?
The Hebrew letters on the dreidel stand for “a great miracle happened there.”  As we spin it, we remember the miracle of the Maccabees.  Against great odds, they fought for, and won, their rights to religious freedom.

To view songs and prayers for Hanukkah click here.

Purim

commemorate the defeat of Haman's plot to massacre the Jews
Begins sunset Saturday, March 23, 2024
Ends sundown Sunday, March 24, 2024

Did you know?
On Purim we shake our noisemakers to blot out the name of evil Haman. 

Passover

Feast of Unleavened Bread celebrating the deliverance of the Jewish people from slavery in Egypt
Begins sunset Monday, April 22, 2024
Ends sundown Tuesday, April 30, 2024

To view examples of prayers from Passover click here.

For specific service times, please see our calendar.

 
 
 
 
Sun, March 3 2024 23 Adar I 5784