Sign In Forgot Password

Holidays

High Holy Days

The High Holy Days bring many memorable traditions and practices.  On Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur we offer both traditional, alternative, and youth services.  No matter which you choose, our services are designed to teach and inspire.

Rosh Hashanah

The Jewish New Year
Begins sunset Monday, Sep 6, 2021
Ends sundown Wednesday, Sep 8, 2021

Did you know?
Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, is a time to reflect on the past year and express one’s hopes for the year to come.  We dip apples or challah in honey to bring in a sweet new year.

Yom Kippur

Day of Atonement
Begins sunset Wednesday, Sep 15, 2021
Ends sundown Wednesday, Sep 16, 2021

Festivals and Holidays

Dine in the Sukkah, dance on Simchat Torah, spin your dreidel on Hanukkah, and shake your grogger on Purim.  Join us throughout the year to experience the rich traditions our holidays offer. 

Sukkot

Festival to commemorate the sheltering of the Israelites in the wilderness 
Begins sunset Monday, Sep 20, 2021
Ends sundown Wednesday, Sep 22, 2021

Shmini Atzeret & Simchat Torah

Day of celebrating the Torah
Begins sunset Monday, Sep 27, 2021
Ends sundown Wednesday, Sep 29, 2021

Hanukkah

Festival of light commemorating the rededication of the Temple in 165 BC by the Maccabees
Begins sunset Sunday, Nov 28, 2021
Ends sundown Monday, Dec 6, 2021

Did you know?
The Hebrew letters on the dreidel stand for “a great miracle happened there.”  As we spin it, we remember the miracle of the Maccabees.  Against great odds, they fought for, and won, their rights to religious freedom.

To view songs and prayers for Hanukkah click here.

Purim

commemorate the defeat of Haman's plot to massacre the Jews
Begins sunset Wednesday, Mar 16, 2022
Ends sundown Thursday, Mar 17, 2022

Did you know?
On Purim we shake our noisemakers to blot out the name of evil Haman. 

Passover

Feast of Unleavened Bread celebrating the deliverance of the Jewish people from slavery in Egypt
Begins sunset Friday, Apr 15, 2022
Ends sundown Saturday, Apr 23, 2022

To view examples of prayers from Passover click here.

For specific service times, please see our calendar.

 
 
 
 
Sun, September 26 2021 20 Tishrei 5782